Faculty Guides & Faculty in Residence Programs

The central mission of university life is fostering the practice of creative and critical inquiry, using methods that are artistic, humanistic, scientific, social-scientific, quantitative and culturally aware.  Faculty in Residence and Faculty Guides serve to model these valuable practices in GW residence halls, and work to facilitate student interaction with others who do the same. 

Our Faculty in Residence and Faculty Guides connect with residents in a variety of ways, including through programs in the residence halls, trips around the DMV area, workshops, and informal interactions. 

A few programs have included trips to the Newseum, spelunking, resume workshops, kayaking on the Potomac, Thanksgiving dinner and desserts, apple picking, cookies and conversation, study breaks, National Geographic Exhibit visits, Nats games, Securing an Internship presentation, IMAX Film screenings, Kennedy Center Shows, and many more!

Meet and connect with our Faculty in Residence and Faculty Guides!


Toni Marsh

Toni Marsh

Email Address: marsht01@gwu.edu

Faculty in Residence in Amsterdam Hall

Tom Guerts

Tom Guerts

Email Address: tgg@gwu.edu

Faculty in Residence in 1959 E Street

Rick Jakeman

Rick Jakeman

Email Address: rjakeman@gwu.edu

Faculty in Residence in the Dakota

William Youmans

William Youmans

Email Address: wyoumans@gwu.edu

Faculty in Residence in Shenkman Hall

Mohssen Esseesy

Mohssen Esseesy

Email Address: esseesym@gwu.edu

Faculty in Residence in JBKO Hall

Adelina Voutchkova

Adelina Voutchkova

Email Address: avoutchkova@gwu.edu

Faculty in Residence in District House

Nikki Usher Layser

Nikki Usher Layser

Email Address: nusher@gwu.edu

Faculty in Residence in District House

Oliver Street

Oliver Street

Email Address: obstreet@gwu.edu

Faculty in Residence in Mitchell Hall

Randi Kristensen

Randi Kristensen

Email Address: rkris@gwu.edu

Faculty in Residence in Thurston Hall

Mark Ralkowski

Mark Ralkowski

Email Address: mralkow@gwu.edu

Faculty in Residence in West Hall


Chris Klemek

Chris Klemek

Email Address: klemek@gwu.edu

Faculty Guide for South Hall

Laura Papish

Laura Papish

Email Address: laurapapish@gwu.edu

Faculty Guide for International House, Munson Hall & Fulbright Hall

Imani Cheers

Imani Cheers

Email Address: imanicheers@gwu.edu

Faculty Guide for 2109 F Street, FSK Hall & Guthridge Hall

Eric Kramon

Eric Kramon

Email Address: ekramon@gwu.edu

Faculty Guide for Lafayette Hall

Shahrokh Ahmadi

Shahrokh Ahmadi

Email Address: ahmadi@gwu.edu

Faculty Guide for Madison Hall

Theo Christov

Theo Christov

Email Address: christov@gwu.edu

Faculty Guide for Potomac House

Katrina Pariera

Katrina Pariera

Email Address: klp@gwu.edu

Faculty Guide for Thurston Hall

Daniel DeWispelare

Daniel DeWispelare

Email Address: dewispelare@gwu.edu

Faculty Guide for Thurston Hall

Jen Bertolet

Jennifer Bertolet

Email Address: bertolet@gwu.edu

Faculty Guide for Merriweather Hall, Cole Hall, Clark Hall and Hensley Hall

Melissa Keeley

Melissa Keeley

Email Address: keeley@gwu.edu

Faculty Guide for Somers Hall