Faculty Programs

The central mission of university life is fostering the practice of creative and critical inquiry, using methods that are artistic, humanistic, scientific, social-scientific, quantitative and culturally aware.  Faculty in Residence and Faculty Guides serve to model these valuable practices in GW residence halls, and work to facilitate student interaction with others who do the same. 

Our Faculty in Residence and Faculty Guides connect with residents in a variety of ways, including through programs in the residence halls, trips around the DMV area, workshops, and informal interactions. 

A few programs have included trips to the Newseum, spelunking, resume workshops, kayaking on the Potomac, Thanksgiving dinner and desserts, apple picking, cookies and conversation, study breaks, National Geographic Exhibit visits, Nats games, Securing an Internship presentation, IMAX Film screenings, Kennedy Center Shows, and many more!

 

 

Meet and connect with our Faculty in Residence and Faculty Guides!


Shahrokh Ahmadi

Faculty Guide in Thurston Hall

School of Engineering and Applied Sciences

Department: Engineering

ahmadi@gwu.edu  

Departmental Bio

 

 

 


Jennifer Bertolet

Faculty Guide in Clark HallCole Hall, and Hensley Hall

Columbian College of Arts and Sciences

Department: History and EAP

bertolet@gwu.edu

Departmental Bio

 

 

 

 

 


Imani Cheers

Faculty Guide in Lafayette Hall

School of Media and Public Affairs

Department: Media and Public Affairs

imanimcheers@gwu.edu

Departmental Bio

 

 

 


Theo Christov

Faculty in Residence in Shenkman Hall

Elliot School of International Affairs

Department: History, Honors

christov@gwu.edu  

Departmental Bio 

 

 

 


Tom Geurts

Faculty in Residence in 1959 E Street

School of Business

Department: Finance and Real Estate

tgg@gwu.edu  

Departmental Bio

 

 

 


Geoffrey Hudson

Faculty Guide in Thurston Hall

Milken Institute School of Public Health

Department: Exercise and Nutrition Sciences

ghudson2@gwu.edu

Departmental Bio

 

 

 


Rick Jakeman

Faculty in Residence in The Dakota

Graduate School of Education and Human Development

Department: Higher Education Administration 

rjakeman@gwu.edu

Departmental Bio

 

 


Melissa Keeley

Faculty Guide in Merriweather Hall and Somers Hall

Columbian College of Arts and Sciences

Department: Geography, Environmental Studies, Public Policy and Public Administration

keeley@gwu.edu

Departmental Bio

 

 

 


Christopher Klemek

Faculty Guide in South Hall

Columbian College of Arts and Sciences

Department: History

klemek@gwu.edu

Departmental Bio

 

 

 


Kathryn Kleppinger 

Faculty Guide in Potomac House and Madison Hall

Columbian College of Arts and Sciences

Department: French, Romance, Germanic, and Slavic Languages and Literature

kleppinger@gwu.edu

Departmental Bio

 

 

 

 

 


Eric Kramon

Faculty Guide in Mitchell Hall

Elliot School of International Affairs

Department: Political Science and International Affairs

ekramon@gwu.edu

Political Science Departmental Bio  International Affairs Departmental Bio 

 

 

 


Randi Kristensen

Faculty in Residence in Thurston Hall

Columbian College of Arts and Sciences

Department: University Writing Program

rkris@gwu.edu

 

 

 

 

 


Toni Marsh

Faculty in Residence in Amsterdam Hall

College of Professional Studies

Department: Paralegal Studies  

marsht01@gwu.edu

Departmental Bio

 

 

 


Laura Papish

Faculty Guide in Francis Scott Key Hall, Guthridge Hall, and 2109 F Street

Columbian College of Arts and Sciences

Department: Philosophy

laurapapish@gwu.edu

Departmental Bio

 

 

 

 

 

 


https://studentengagement.gwu.edu/sites/studentengagement.gwu.edu/files/downloads/Arlene-Pericak_220x120.jpgArlene Pericak

Faculty Guide in Fulbright Hall and Munson Hall

School of Nursing

Department: Nursing

kaitlin19@gwu.edu

Departmental Bio

 

 

 

 

 


Mark Ralkowski 

Faculty in Residence in West Hall

Columbian College of Arts and Sciences

Department: Psychology, Honors

mralkow@gwu.edu

Departmental Bio

 

 

 


Oliver Street

Faculty in Residence in Mitchell Hall

Executive Director of Enrollment Management and Retention

obstreet@gwu.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 


Nikki Usher Layser

Faculty in Residence in District House

School of Media and Public Affairs

Department: Media and Public Affairs

nusher@gwu.edu

Departmental Bio

 

 

 

 

 

 


Adelina Voutchkova

Faculty in Residence in District House

Columbian College of Arts and Sciences

Department: Chemistry

avoutchkova@gwu.edu  

Departmental Bio

 

 


Will Youmans

Faculty in Residence in Jacqueline Bouvier Kennedy Onassis Hall

School of Media and Public Affairs

Department: Media and Public Affairs

wyoumans@gwu.edu

Departmental Bio